Redreesa’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You’re never too old. August 22, 2008

Filed under: Things I've Learned — redreesa @ 4:00 pm
Tags: ,

Things I Have Learned Since Moving From Home and In With A Roommate:

#2. You’re never too old to want the comfort of home when you’re sick.

Internet, Fay is upon us here in Florida. Fortunately, the man-in-charge saw fit to give our office the day off yesterday. And, typically, this would have been cause for celebration… You know, the kind of celebration that involves eating comfort food all day while snuggled up with a pillow and blanket?

Yeah. Not how my day went. At. All.

I woke up with a splitting headache and shortly thereafter, I was nauseous. Like, writhing-on-the-couch-in-pain-don’t-touch-me-or-I’ll-puke-on-you nauseous. And the fun didn’t end there.  After attempting to eat a couple bites of Eggo waffles (thinking maybe I’m nauseous because my blood sugar is low- after all, I haven’t eaten in about 14 hours…), I make my first run to quickly be rid of it.

In short, I didn’t keep anything down yesterday. Now, really? What else could make a hurricane-day worse?

Having to go through it all alone.

Aside from the obvious comforts I miss about living at home- like not paying rent, free food, internet, satellite TV, and constant company- yesterday, I really missed my parents.

I mean waking up sick at your boyfriend’s house is NEVER fun, but even being there, with 3 other people, I still felt like I was suffering and I was doing it all alone. I don’t know. Maybe I didn’t seem sick, but I might’ve been too busy picking my head up out of the toilet bowl to actually relay the message. HEY, I’M SICK- I NEED AFFECTION.

I was pretty close to just saying Screw It and driving across town to lay up on Mom and Dad’s couch, but the bridges were closed. Oy… This is where I settle for going to my own house. Sure, there’s no boyfriend to cuddle up to when I feel like crying, but he had things to do last night anyway.  I didn’t want to stay at his place and literally be alone.

So, I drive home where I stayed on the couch all night (I woke up there at 7:20 this morning). I think I slept about 4 hours total from the time I got home around 7PM.  Shiva was with me the whole time, but she seemed more interested in comforting me long enough to get me to pet her (and I thought I was being needy yesterday).

 I watched ALOT of TV. Collectively, I’d say I watched more TV last night than I have in the past 2 months. And it wasn’t even good  TV. It was TBS, or Tru TV, or whatever the hell they call it. It was cool to catch a few episodes of Sex In The City, though, and I got to indulge in a guilty pleasure from my teenage years- Selena, the movie.

All in all, it was a crap day. I really missed the warm Gatorade, or Coke, or Sprite that my folks always made sure I had when I was sick. And I missed being asked frequently whether I felt better or if I felt like I was another step closer to death. I even missed being poked and prodded with cornball jokes (thanks Dad).  

But, this morning, when I woke up the last time, I was able to sit up without feeling pukey. And I was pleased to see that I could make it through a shower and getting dressed without puking as well.

Good news is that I have kept down 2 pieces of toast and some warm sprite and water (though, the sprite didn’t feel too great), so things are looking up. We’re back at work today (why? I don’t know. It’s still raining, so we can’t fix any of the rain damage. And I don’t think we’ll sell too many tickets for tomorrow night’s game…) and with all my coworkers around, I don’t feel as alone.

But, this bout of rain has served as a little reminder of all the good things about living at home. And it’s nice to know, it’s still there if I need it.

 

One Response to “You’re never too old.”

  1. Sonya Says:

    Next time, shoot over to our place! We were very bored Thursday & Friday at home and we never lost power or cable!


Leave a Reply

